Patrick Stewart Will Be Honored With 2024 Television Showperson of the Year Award





Star Trek: Picard

The Publicists of the International Cinematographers Guild will present legendary actor Sir Patrick Stewart with the 2024 Television Showperson of the Year Award next month.

The 61st Annual ICG Publicist Awards will be hosted at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel on March 8. The Guild found Stewart “embodies the spirit” of the Television Showperson of the Year. The group selects the talent whose accomplishments in television “best represent that special spirit traditionally defined as showmanship,” to which Stewart has proven himself as such for decades.

“We are honored to celebrate Stewart’s venerable career, including the recently completed final season of CBS Studios and Paramount+’s Star Trek: Picard, in which he reprised his signature role, first appearing in 1987, in the TV series Star Trek: The Next Generation,” said Award Chairs Tim Menke and Sheryl Main.

Stewart began his career six decades ago as a classically trained theater actor. In 1966, he joined the Royal Shakespeare Company before moving on to film and television. His fanbase grew immensely from his iconic portrayals of Gurney Helleck in Dune (1984), Captain Jean-Luc Picard in Star Trek: The Next Generation, and Professor Charles Xavier in X-Men. Stewart lent his distinctive, commanding voice to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, The Simpsons, Futurama, American Dad!, Family Guy, and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

Stewart also ventured into writing last year with Making It So, a memoir of his life that earned him a quick jump to the top of the New York Times bestselling author list. Over the span of his career, his performances earned him three Olivier Awards, Emmy, Golden Globe, Oscar, SAG, Critics Choice, and Tony Award nominations, as well as countless honors. In 2010, Queen Elizabeth awarded Stewart the Knight Bachelor of the Order of the British Empire for his contributions to drama.

On February 4, Star Trek: Picard was nominated for seven Saturn Awards and won four, including Best Science Fiction Television Series. Stewart won for Best Actor in a Television Series. He was also honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award along with fellow Star Trek: The Next Generation cast members Brent Spiner, Marina Sirtis, Gates McFadden, Michael Dorn, and Wil Wheaton.

The ICG has a lengthy history itself, spanning back to 1937 when it was initially called the Screen Publicists Guild. The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1964. The event includes Motion Pictures and Lifetime Achievement Awards. Previous recipients of the Television Showperson of the Year Award include Norman Lear, Ava DuVernay, Greg Berlanti, Quinta Brunson, Ryan Murphy, John Landgraf, Shonda Rhimes, Chuck Lorre, Steven Bochco, Aaron Spelling, and Bob Hope.

Disclaimer: To address the growing use of ad blockers we now use affiliate links to sites like, streaming services, and others. Affiliate links help sites like Cord Cutters News, stay open. Affiliate links cost you nothing but help me support my family. We do not allow paid reviews on this site. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

* indicates required

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from :

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.