Cyberspace is vast, and ensuring your privacy is protected can be challenging. Google is upgrading a safety feature to protect your privacy online. A new dashboard will alert you if sensitive information is showing up on Search and immediately request the information removed.
The upgraded dashboard builds off Google’s Results About You Tool released last year. The tool sends an alert if it detects your phone number, home address, email, and other information. The updates let you track activity and will alert you when it finds the information. You’ll also receive a notice of new results as they appear.
Additionally, Google enhanced its personal explicit image removal tool. This feature lets users remove previously posted explicit content. The updated version will alert you if these images appear on other websites without your consent.
While the tool will remove your information and images from Google Search, it doesn’t erase it from the internet. It will still be accessible on the web pages hosting it. However, it’s still an excellent start to protecting your privacy. The tool will appear under your Google profile picture, making it quickly accessible.
Google is the most popular search engine, with over 85% of the search market share and 95% of mobile traffic reports HubSpot. Censoring your information on Google searches creates a considerable roadblock for anyone trying to invade your privacy.
Find Results About You Tool in your Google Account. Search for yourself and flag any search results by clicking “More” then “Remove Result.” Google will ask for a reason. Choose “It shows my personal contact info” and submit your request. You can also submit a request directly from websites you come across. Google will send a confirmation email within a few hours. You can track and monitor the status of requests from the “Results About You” page.
Google said to expect the upgraded dashboard sometime in “the coming days.”