This week AT&T announced they are putting an end to prorated credits if you cancel their service. For example, right now if you cancel DIRECTV on December 15, they would credit you for the rest of December that you didn’t use. (Assuming your contract had ended.) Now if you cancel on or after the first of the month, you need to pay for the rest of the month starting January 14, 2019.
This means you need to do your research before you drop an AT&T service like DIRECTV. Even if you are not a customer you likely want to try and cancel close to the end of the month as possible to avoid losing any credits.
We bill in advance for DIRECTV, U-verse® TV, AT&T Phone, AT&T Internet, and Fixed Wireless Internet accounts per our service agreements. Currently, if you cancel any of these services, we give you prorated credits for the remaining days in your bill period. Starting January 14, 2019, if you disconnect these services before the bill period is over, we won’t offer those prorated credits anymore. But, you can still use your services until the last day of your bill period. We’re making this change so our video and broadband services follow the same billing policies as our mobility services.
This change doesn’t apply to:
- Accounts in California, Illinois, and New York
- U-verse TV, AT&T Phone, or AT&T Internet accounts in Michigan
- Services, features, or account changes such as upgrades or downgrades
- Switching between the following products (subject to availability):
- DIRECTV and U-verse TV
- DSL and AT&T Internet
- Landline phone and AT&T Phone
- Moving your current accounts to a new location (but, a charge and corresponding credit may apply)
- DIRECTV for Business (Commercial)
Did you know we have a YouTube Channel? Every week we have a live Cord Cutting Q&A, and weekly Cord Cutting recap shows exclusively on our YouTube Channel!